A new malware is spreading on Facebook via Google Chrome

Share with:

FacebookTwitterGoogleVkontakteTumblrStumbleUponLinkedInRedditPinterestPocketDigg


Sources report the spread of a new malware via the Chrome and Facebook notifications system. What appears to be notified instead it leads to the infected file downloads

It’s not news that hackers and cyber-criminals they should direct their attention especially to the most popular services in order to hit as many people as possible, and on a few web services are the most famous Facebook. Zuckerberg’s social network allows for years to internet users to meet and share experiences and information, and that is why it has been taken repeatedly targeted by cyber criminals, especially scammer, often taking advantage of the naivety of the public writing.

fb_malware

A new malware seems to have been spread to Facebook users through the Chrome browser in the form of an apparently harmless notification. The reported originally Hackread last Monday and, according to the source, the malware informs the user of a tag received from a friend about a particular comment on a post of the service. But, clicking on the notification, the user will download malicious software onto your computer, and then potentially harmful.

Although the simple download does not involve direct damage to the computer and is not sufficient to infect the system, the most naive user and less sailed that runs the application and does not know the modus operandi of this type of cybercriminals can in fact activate the functioning of the malware. In an analysis carried out by a third party it turns out that the program uses JavaScript and uses Windows Script Host to download the remainder of the sensitive code.

The script also download what looks like a browser extension for Google Chrome (manifest.json and bg.js), a Windows executable and other scripts that are supposed to contain the ransomware code: “All these files are named .jpg server (possibly compromised) that hosts them, to arouse less suspicion, “he wrote a developer on StackExchange site. At the moment we do not know if the malware involves only Chrome users or those using other similar software (Edge, Firefox).

Our advice to Facebook users is therefore to be very careful on what you click, especially if the notification origin is unknown or at least suspected.

Share with:

FacebookTwitterGoogleVkontakteTumblrStumbleUponLinkedInRedditPinterestPocketDigg


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *